Chomping Down On Some Local Chow

Who doesn’t enjoy a platter full of local produce? There is something more earthy and vibrant about the flavours in produce that hasn’t covered miles to get to us. On Sunday, my husband and I finally managed to go to our local Kent farmer’s market in Cliftonville.

IMG_2931

For someone like me, who’d never ever shopped in a supermarket before coming to England, Cliftonville Farmer’s Market was home. I have fond memories of holding the end of my mother’s saree and following her around the market, who would spend hours holding a veg, turning it around, tapping the outside of it to check the depth (or whatever that she had to scrutinize) and then negotiating prices with the stall holder.

IMG_2934

For me sweating in the sun, being petrified of losing the end of my mum’s saree in a busy market was all worth it when mum put that amazing produce on my plate for dinner. Yummmm

IMG_2929

Cliftonville Farmer’s Market was friendly (they threw an extra bit of veg in my bag), nicely spaced out and organised! We even managed to bump into a very very old acquaintance of my husband’s, who he hadn’t seen for years!

IMG_2927

We picked some interesting mix of veg, pickles and cheeses. My husband was especially pleased to have placed an order for home milled organic wheat flour from a local Kent baker.

IMG_2944

Looking forward to devouring the local produce. Wish Kent Farmer’s Market took place more than just once a month!

Do you like farmer’s market? What is your fondest memory associated with open markets?

 

 

Leave a comment