Irene’s 8th Birthday

Irene was 8 years old on 14th of August. We decided to have a family birthday this year. Her birthday falls in the middle of summer holidays, hence if we aren’t super organised it is usually very hard to assemble and gather any of her friends together as most of them tend to be on their holidays away. Luckily, for Irene little is more and she always finds happiness is whatever she is given. She is one grateful child and ofcourse we are grateful for them!

It has been 6 glorious years that I have been her mother. I have enjoyed every bit of it. I still remember the tiny little 2 year old, who was waiting at the railway station on a very cold winters day at Stourbridge with her 4 year old over excited brother to see “daddy’s friend”. We DID NOT hit it off right away unlike with her brother, who thought I was a princess and loved me right away.

Irene was shy (she still is), slightly nervous which came across as being grumpy and the only few phrases she loved saying in Korean was, “Sheeroh” or something like that which meant, “I hate it” or “I don’t like it”. And “Aneeyah” meaning “No” and ofcourse, “Anaajoh” meaning “pick me up and cuddle me”. It took a good few days before she gave us a smile and a hearty laugh and I was pleased that it was me who got it out of her. Ever since that day onwards, it has always been a not such a straightforward journey with Irene. We always get through things eventually but can never be on top of things. She is although very sociable, she is also an introvert. Today, when I think of all those six years that we have been together, I wish for a future full of immense confidence and strength in her. I hope she can always find a way to express herself openly and realise her dreams because I know she has an enormous amount of will and determination to make them all come true. As a parent, I hope we can provide her with tools to grow into a strong woman who can stand for herself and many others.

This has been a very special year for Irene. She became a big sister, and what a good one she is! She made us so proud with all her endeavour towards cross – country runs wherein she came 23rd amongst hundreds. She is taking her violin lessons and practices religiously. She makes us so proud. She is beautiful, charming and very kind at heart. What more could I want as a mother of an 8 year old.

For her birthday, we simply had a family breakfast, walk with the dogs, visit to the air show in Herne Bay and a meal together. It was a very good day and she was so content (or so it seemed)!

IMG_8330

When she arrived downstairs to clean her teeth, she heard us singing and was totally taken aback by the preparations. Her face, bless her!

 

IMG_8337

 

IMG_8351

Hoola Hoop expert

 

IMG_8356

Grandma trying the hoola hoop

 

IMG_8378

Hoola Hoop was pretty popular and family friendly present

IMG_8370

My three babies – complete family!

 

IMG_8390

We do pancakes every weekend, but not American style with Berry compote. This went down a treat!

 

IMG_8414

Air Show – Herne Bay

 

IMG_8419

Rudy Warmar and the Heavy Weather

 

IMG_8424

Air Show – Herne Bay

 

IMG_8439

Air Show – Herne Bay

 

IMG_8453

Air Show – Herne Bay

 

IMG_8456

Irene wanted a banana cake for her birthday. I told you, she is an easy kid!

Leave a Reply

