Step – Mother in Laws Party Toss !!

IMG_3411

Well, I am not sure why she calls it a party toss but I think simply because it is child friendly and pretty quick and easy!

Today, it was one of those afternoons where the little siblings in my household were just not getting along and I was too tired and cheerful to be stressing my throat to shout at them to tell them off!

So I decided to get them engaged into cooking and what was meant to be a mac and cheese turned into a party toss, simply because there isn’t much to do for the kids in mac and cheese!

My kids enjoyed every bit of it eating as much as they did cooking! Here’s my version of my (step) mother in law’s party toss with a twist! (twist because she uses ham, cream and parmesan and I used chicken, no cream and cheddar). I am sure it will go just fine without any meat for the vegetarians.

IMG_3426

Serves 6

Ingredients: (instinctual)

1 and half tbsp Plain flour

3 tabs of butter

2 cups of milk

Lots of Cheese (get the kid to grate it)

2 onions

1 bell pepper

5 to 6 cloves of garlic

handful of mixed vegetables (I used from frozen pack)

leftover chicken from sunday roast (get the child to shred them)

400gm Penne Pasta

Salt and black pepper to taste

Method:

Cook the pasta al dente in boiling hot water with a pinch of salt. Drain and toss it in olive oil. Set aside.

In a pan, heat the butter with a dash of olive oil (to avoid the butter from burning). Sauté the onions and garlic until translucent. Add the flour and sauté for 2 minutes in very low heat (let it not get brown). Add milk and stir until all the lumps disappear. Add the mixed veg, chicken (or ham) and peppers. Cook for about 3 to 4 minutes and then add cheese, salt and pepper. That’s your sauce ready. Turn the heat very low.

Toss in the pasta into the sauce and cook for 2 minutes on low heat or until the pasta is thoroughly cooked.

Voila! Serve hot!! Preferably with a sprinkle of parmesan! 🙂

I hope you enjoyed the recipe. Please let me know your comments below.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

