My Christmas Chocolate Cake with Fruit Peel

IMG_3254

I think I have found this year’s Christmas Cake.

With the festive season just a couple of months away and supermarket’s decorating themselves in Christmas mood, I have obviously been tempted towards thinking about Christmas. One of the toughest things for me to do is deciding which cake is going to be celebrated this year.

At my home, a traditional Christmas fruit cake with Marzipan isn’t enjoyed by all. Infact, it is just my husband who scoffs it all off. So, we have a very nice arrangement, mother – in – law bakes for her children and I bake for mine.

This year I wanted a chocolate cake with a hint of fruitiness in it. Something chunky, soft in the middle and not sickly sweet.

Ingredients:

  • 175g salted butter, plus extra for greasing
  • 200g dark chocolate, broken into pieces
  • 100g milk chocolate, broken into pieces
  • 250g sugar (I used fine granulated for texture)
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 70g self raising plain flour
  • pinch of baking powder
  • 200g mixed fruit peel (lemon and orange mostly)

Method:

Preheat the oven on Gas Mark 5.

Melt the chocolate with a spoonful of butter in the microwave. Set aside.

In a bowl, mix the butter and sugar. Then whisk the eggs into the mixture. Add the dry ingredients and mix well until the butter, sugar, eggs are all blended in properly with the flour. Stir in the chocolate gently and add the mixed fruit peel (I used the Asda fruit peel for £74p, soaked in sugar syrup which brings the hint of marmalade like flavour but less bitter).

Once the batter is ready, line the baking tin with greaseproof paper or greaseproof it with some butter which is what I did. Pour the batter into the tin and bake for 30 minutes. Check after 30 minutes with the skewer. If it comes out clear, cook some more. I turned it off when it was slightly gooey in the middle, but not raw! That way it acquires the texture of a brownie. Rich and gooey in the middle and crusty on the top. A dollop of frozen yogurt or clotted cream – YUMMMMMM!!!

Please let me know if you like the recipe and leave your comments below.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

