How to tame frizzy hair – Autumn/Winter Hair Care Routine

Photo on 30-09-2014 at 11.38 #2

If your hair goes all frizzy and puffy the moment you step out of the comfort of your well-heated home, this post might be helpful.

I am about to talk and introduce eight different products, so brace yourself!

And no there is no easy or quick way to tame your frizz. If you have frizzy hair, it means a change in lifestyle! You have to be prepared to spend at least 20 to 30 minutes after your shower, drying and styling your hair. And a good 10 to 15 minutes in the morning as well, regardless of what style you opt for. The only easiest and quickest thing without straightening my hair every morning, is tidying it up in a bun! But even then I can see fly-aways.

Photo on 30-09-2014 at 11.37 #2

So here is what I do.

1. Haircut – This is a no brainer! Regular hair trim is even more vital during this season. One of the two big reasons for frizzy hair is split ends, apart from the dry weather. Getting rid of those split ends, is half the job done!

IMG_3205

2.Shampoo/Conditioner/Scrub – I am not very particular about my shampoo really. Popular notions suggests, people with dull, dry hair must opt for a product without sulphate. I couldn’t find one in the stores, so I brought what smelt nice!

At the moment, the miracle worker in the shower is Garnier’s Ultimate Blends range with Vanilla and Papaya . It smells so divine, you just want to chill it and eat it, but don’t!

It says it is for mid – long hair with split ends. Perfect for me. Also, one of the coolest things the range offers is a scrub. I have never heard of a scrub for your hair before but this sounded interesting. And so after shampooing and conditioning, I use the scrub and gently massage it on to the tips of my hair, slowly working myself up but not touching the roots.

One other important tip and part of this shampooing ritual is that I use relatively colder water on my hair compared to the rest of my shower. I think that helps too! I won’t get technical as to why – use your friend google! 🙂

IMG_3203

3. Blowdrying: Your hair will not behave if it’s not dry and no you cannot enjoy the luxury of air drying it. I know sounds unfair but it is true. That is why people like me, don’t like it when it rains on our head! We can’t dry and straighten our hair on the road and hence, end up with frizz and puff! Frustrating!

As soon as I get out of the shower, I massage a few drops of Morrocan Oil into my scalp and rub the leftover on the rest of the hair. Don’t be scared of the oil, frizzy hair needs moisture and oil does exactly that (chose your own favt. oil). Then I spray a little bit of Tresseme’s Blow Dry Lotion with heat protector before blow drying my hair.

4. Straighten/Curl: At this stage, depending on what I prefer I style my hair. I prefer straightening these days as it lasts longer than the waves. Once styled I gently apply Body Care Grapeseed Glossing Serum for the shine. It settled down the fly – aways and leaves the hair shiny and fragrant.

5. Dry Shampoo: In between my washes, I use Batiste Dry Shampoo and Loreal Elvive Full Restore Leave In Conditioner (Don’t go mad with it, I use it only if I feel my hair is going flat and extremely oily, a little bit of oilyness is frizzy hair’s best friend).

I know it sounds like a lot of products and labour intensive, because IT IS!! But it is worth it.

People with dry/dull and frizzy hair aren’t supposed to wash their hair as frequently as others. But in the past my hair would go frizzy in a matter of 24 hours and I was forced to wash and style my hair all over again. But with this new routine, I can go on for three days without washing my hair. I only wash my hair twice a week I would say. I do have to give my hair a quick press every morning though, and a dab of serum for the shine.

I have spent years trying to find a hair care routine that actually works, but I think I have finally figured that one out!

I hope you find this post helpful.

This was not a sponsored post. If you liked it, please leave a comment below.

 

2 thoughts on “How to tame frizzy hair – Autumn/Winter Hair Care Routine

Leave a Reply

