Breakfast Recipe: Vegetable Hash With Eggs On Top

IMG_2764

The easiest breakfast to make for my two little ones is a bowl of cheerios with milk and porridge, daddy is known to make pancakes and every now and then, I attempt at making Parathas (Indian savoury pancakes).

My children devour all of the easy no fuss breakfast, which makes me less guilty of having not made such an effort in the morning. I am not a morning momma!

But today was different, unlike other mornings, I for a change fancied breakfast! And I don’t appreciate eating sweet stuff. So I decided to pull my mummy socks up and prepared hot savoury breakfast…

Ingredients:

1 medium sized chopped onions

1 big carrot sliced

2 courgettes sliced

1 big baking potato sliced (I used 6 baby potato)

3 cloves of garlic

2 bay leaves

4 free range eggs

1 tsp dried oregano

Salt, Sugar & Pepper to taste

Good glug of olive oil

Method:

Preheat the oven on gas mark 6.

In a saucepan, heat the oil. Add the bay leaves, onions and garlic. Sauté till translucent, and then add potatoes and carrots. Once the potatoes are nearly cooked, add courgettes and other dried ingredients. I added some left over spinach but that’s optional.

Remove the pan from the heat and make four separate wells in between the hash for poaching the eggs. Now break the eggs in the holes and put the pan in the oven for about 10 minutes or until everything goes golden brown and eggs are cooked.

Serve hot with freshly baked bread or with wraps as we did!

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

