Summer Fragrance 2014

Vanitas Versace

IMG_2162

Reviewing a perfume is not something I do often. Although I have always been attracted to various fragrances and I like to try different scents, I have been loyal to Dior’s J’Adore for the longest of time since I was a teenager.

I also swear by Christian Dior’s saying, “A woman’s perfume tells more about her than her handwriting. ” 

But the day before my wedding, my husband gave me Vanitas Versace. I was a bit skeptical but must always respect a present and so I tried it on. Initially too strong for my senses, it slowly grew on me. And now I am in love! It is definitely my summer fragrance of 2014.

It apparently has an interesting blend of Lime & Freesia, TIare Flower, Tonka Bean and Cedar Wood. Honestly, I don’t know what is Tiare flower or Tonka Bean, but one thing I can say is that it is sensually floral and perfect for an evening out or a party. It fades out very gently and lasts for a good 4 to 5 hours.

I would not suggest it for a day time BBQ or Brunch, simply because it is quite strong on the senses and guests at the venue will notice your fragrance first and in a BBQ party, just in case they smell the meat first, you simply aren’t doing justice to the perfume. Just saying!

Now Vanitas Versace won’t be that cheap but I have seen some perfume shops doing a bargain deal. So if you are not a big spender, hit those bargain perfume shops! Honestly, the fragrance is so worth it and a little spritz will go a long way making the bottle last a while.

The RHS’s Hibiscus Perfume by Bronnley

IMG_2160

On my honeymoon, I was in the look out for a day time perfume as I found Vanitas Versace too voluptuous and sensual for my day time treks and adventures. So on one particular day, when my husband decided to have a nap, I quickly popped out to the shops to find my new scent – The Royal Horticultural Society’s Hibiscus EDT by Bronnley.

The RDS’s Hibiscus EDT smells natural, one dimensional and soothing. This fresh and tropical perfume has a blend of rose and lilly and fades out soothingly leaving a slight woody note. To me, personally it has a creamy feel to it. It smells as if I have applied a lotion rather than a scent. I believe my grandma had a moisturiser that smelt something similar and so the scent reminds me of her comfort. It is completely opposite to Vanitas that makes you feel desired, sexy and wanting to have a nice time; whereas the Hibiscus Perfume makes you feel comfortable, secure and cosy.

It’s not very expensive at £16 for a 100ml bottle. Get in!!

Another of my favourite perfume quote that sums up my thoughts is

“A woman who doesn’t wear perfume has no future.” – Coco Chanel

So what is your summer fragrance 2014?

 

 

 

One thought on “Summer Fragrance 2014

Leave a Reply

