Broadstairs Food Festival 2013

Broadstairs Food Festival is an annual event aimed at local people and local producers. The three day long Broadstairs Food Festival 2013, came to an end today. It has been the most aromatic and scrumptious weekend of the year in Broadstairs with a variety of Kentish food and drinks .

Image

The Victoria Gardens was dressed in white tents and marques, embellished with food from different ethnicity, accessorised with some mouth -watering desserts and complimented by some high quality freshly pressed apple juices, cider and more.

Image

The whole town was busy hustling with people traveling from far and wide, just to enjoy a buffet of glorious food ranging from Russian Shuba to the very tradition Hog roast (rolls). We even had a canine visitor who was well-popular.

I grew up in Mumbai, India. In India we live for food. The moment we wake up we start thinking about what to cook for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Having grown up in Mumbai, where food is celebrated every day and every celebration is judged by the food it serves, I had to go and rekindle my romantic relationship with food.

We started off by just trying bits and bobs before we decided to buy anything. Always wise, as there are too many temptations and if you stop and buy at every stall, you would have eaten into your overdraft even before you know it.

Image

Once the very wise inspection was over, my taste buds took me back to the chutney stall where we decided to buy the Tomato and chilli chutney which makes for a great add on in burritos, fajitas and sandwiches. If you are clever, you can use it as a base for curries too.

After that we walked on to the Russian food stall only because the man greeted me and my little two as “Ladies and Gentlemen”, we found it a bit funny and sympathised at his awkwardness which was oozing out of every fumble he made. We tried some Shuba and brought a slice to enjoy as a pre-dinner snack.

Image

The Russian food was much better than expected but it did not marvel me, partly because I found it hugely bland for my pallet, I knew I needed something hot. I asked around and everyone pointed me towards a falafel stall called Carrington’s Chup, where they was selling not falafel but some sort of home-made freshly fried crisps made out of wheat dough, served with his home-made spicy sauce (secret recipe). He had three version of heat with the hottest one called SHUT UP. I had a little taste and I knew why it was called Shut Up!

I had to get it, incase I needed some peace and quiet at home. It tastes a bit like the hot sauce they serve in spanish/mexican restaurants just a very very hot “blow my head off” variety. It goes well as a dip or add on in tacos or fajitas. It surely isn’t for the faint hearted and for people who don’t like the burning sensation during potty time. (just being honest!)

So after burning our buds, we had to soothe it with some apple juices and of course my favourite cider and ale :). I would recommend the Green Hop Ale. It was lush.  I tried more samples than I brought but sometimes indulging yourself shamelessly is completely worth it.

We brought Core’s Apple and Ginger juice (what a brilliant combination) and it apparently can last up to 100 days (it won’t last more than 100 minutes, but that is a different matter).

And then of course I felt like a traitor buying apple juices from someone else, when my beloved friends Sarah and Micky had also put up a stall. I could not resist those discovery apple juices. One of my bambinos despised the taste of ginger in the apple juice I  had brought earlier and sought comfort in the Little Stour Orchard’s discovery apple juice.

Image

On the way back, we stopped at the Italian stall and got some amazing sweet pastries and biscuits. They were all delicious but around 5pm, the lady at the stall started packing her things, making us rush a bit and we eventually lost a bit of interest in hanging about spending more money on her food (Never rush your customer).

Finally, on the way back, we stopped at this beautiful and elaborate bread stall with all kind of loafs from traditional sour dough bread to some interesting focaccia. But we bought Cholla (pronounced Hola), a jewish loaf with slightly sweet fluffy inside and gently crusted outside topped with black sesame seeds. It made for a delightful breakfast.

There were some stalls selling game meat and on the last day, Ed (our personal bank account) decided to honour the festival and brought some wild bore and apple sausages. My staffy would have preferred some venison I could tell from the way his nose was pointing at it.

Apart from the food stalls, the festival hosted a number of events for children and others . Many pop – up restaurants were amongst the many stalls as well.

The food festival ran from morning 10am to 6pm from Friday, 4th October to Sunday, 6th October. It was a lovely little visit.

My only criticism was that it closed very early in the evening. I would have wanted to go out with friends after putting the kids to bed, enjoying some cider and food on the go. But I totally appreciate that it could also cause huge losses to local restaurants.

I have to mention that there is a lot of hullabaloo at the beginning of the week leading to the festival. The week usually starts off with a Gala seven course dinner at the cost of £35, honing culinary cooking skills of the students from the East Kent College . In the evening, local restaurants and cafe’s host various events and entertainment with some delectable food. Some of the participants  this year were Oscar’s Festival Cafe, Wyatt & Jones and Thirty-Nine Steps to name a few.

All in all, I have had a food-a-licious time this weekend. How about you?

Leave a Reply

